No Such Thing as Evil (Circle of Six Trilogy, Book 1) 

Andrew Hunkins
Beaver’s Pond Press (2016)
ISBN 978-1-64343-869-6
Reviewed by Pikasho Deka for Readers’ Favorite

Reprinted with permission from original post.

No Such Thing as Evil is the first book of the Circle of Six Series by Andrew Hunkins. Professor Laura Richards takes a personal interest in the disappearance of some of her young female students. After her friend Marian dies giving birth to a child named Chris, Laura and her astrophysicist husband, Ben, adopt him as one of their own. However, they soon realize that Chris is no ordinary child and possesses an extraordinary being within him. Meanwhile, an insidious group of powerful men called the Circle of Six kidnap and torture young women for their own nefarious purposes. As Laura and Ben get closer to uncovering the mystery behind the missing girls and Chris’s mysterious abilities, they unwittingly draw the attention of the Circle of Six, inviting mortal danger upon themselves and their loved ones.

If neo-noir sci-fi thrillers are your jam, No Such Thing as Evil is right up your alley. Author Andrew Hunkins’ blockbuster of a novel keeps you on the edge of your seat from start to finish. The plot moves at lightning speed, keeping you glued to the pages with unexpected twists and turns that you never see coming. The cast of characters is quite large, and the narrative switches POVs in almost every chapter. However, each character feels layered, and there is depth to their outward personalities that makes them captivating to read. Chris’s dynamic with his friends and family feels genuine, and the scenes where they team up together were some of my favorite parts of the book. Recommended to fans of sci-fi.